During the design process architects and students often study the plans of buildings that have already been built or designed. Such information is available conventionally as a form of collective memory in architectural monographs and journals as well on the internet. For the purposes of targeted research, however, the accessibility of these sources is hampered by an inconsistent use of terminology and a lack of structured, non-subjective metadata.

For the development of society in the media age, the organisation of knowledge and the ability to find relevant knowledge is essential, not just for research purposes but also in economic and social terms. Knowledge is generally regarded as useful information. However, the literature does not elaborate clear differentiations between what is knowledge, and what is information and data. In our view it is the preparation of information in data structures that makes it useful as knowledge.

Our goal is to support the early stages of the design process using information technology in order to find similar built architectural solutions as a source of inspiration, an explicit solution, or a means to better understand current design problems. The iterative nature of the design process results in a continuous exchange between creative, analytical and evaluation stages to select the most promising design variations.

To formalize architectural situations digitally we propose to create semantic fingerprints of buildings, to be used to identify a building as we use actual fingerprints to identify of individuals. In order to map the spatial structure of architectural situations, graph-based approaches are being investigated to mathematically represent fingerprints for information such as space and their connections, alignment, orientation or urban integration.

Twitter News

Für den Entwurf recherchieren und studieren Architekten Pläne von bereits gebauten und entworfenen Gebäuden. Aktuell steht die Information als verteiltes kollektives Gedächtnis vorwiegend in Monografien, Zeitschriften und im Internet zur Verfügung. Jedoch ist diese Information nur bedingt zugänglich weil keine einheitlichen Begriffe verwendet werden und somit unstrukturierte und subjektive Metadaten zielführende Recherchen erschweren.

Aufbau und Abfragemöglichkeiten von Wissen sind für die Entwicklung einer Gesellschaft in wissenschaftlicher, wirtschaftlicher und sozialer Hinsicht essenziell. Wissen wird als nutzbare Information aufgefasst. Die Abgrenzung von Wissen, Information und Daten ist in der Literatur nicht eindeutig, es kann jedoch am Maß der notwendigen Aufbereitung der Information in Datenstrukturen, um als Wissen nutzbar zu sein, bestimmt werden.

Ziel ist die informationstechnische Unterstützung der frühen Phasen des Entwurfsprozess, um effizient ähnliche architektonische Situationen als Inspiration, konkrete Lösung oder zur Ermittlung des eigentlichen Problems recherchieren zu können. Der iterative Charakter des Entwurfsprozess bedingt einen kontinuierlichen Wechsel zwischen kreativen, analytischen und prüfenden Schritten, um durch die Auswahl aus den vielversprechendsten Varianten den sinnvollsten Entwurfsansatz auszuwählen.

Zur Formalisierung architektonischer Situationen und der computergestützten Ermittlung der Ähnlichkeit wird der semantische Fingerabdruck von Gebäuden, ähnlich der Identifizierung von Personen, vorgeschlagen. Zur Abbildung der räumlichen Struktur von architektonischen Situationen werden graphenbasierte Ansätze untersucht und verschiedene semantische Fingerabdrücke für beispielsweise Raum- und Bauteilverbindungen, Ausrichtung, Orientierung oder städtebauliche Integration in Graphen formalisiert.

HEAD OF RESEARCH GROUP

AkadR. Dr.-Ing.
Architekt Christoph Langenhan
Technische Universität München
Chair for Architectural Informatics
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Petzold
fon: +49 (0) 89 289 25 042
fax: +49 (0) 89 289 22 179
langenhan@ai.ar.tum.de
www.ai.ar.tum.de

Login

 Remember me